I am having issues with developing the character of a brother in one of my Regency romances. I’m nearly done with the first book in a series, and this character, the brother of the hero in the first book, will be the male main character in the second book. Or possibly the third, if I can’t breath a little more life into him.

His name is Robert Everett Coleman, and he is the younger son of a duke, and the brother of a viscount. He has no job, no work to keep his active mind busy, so he spends time with his friends doing what all rich young men like to do.

Rob: You can’t be suggesting that I actually work? It’s just not done. And I would need an entirely different wardrobe. My velvets and silks would not stand up to hard labor.

Interviewer: There are acceptable paths for the upper class. Younger sons usually join the army or navy, or take orders and enter the church.

Rob: I’m speechless. The military? You stopped here on your way to Bedlam, did you? My dear ma’am, I cannot imagine wearing the same coat for days on end. And to take orders, no. One should have at least a slight feeling of spiritual calling. I am not a cad.

Interviewer: You are, I see, dressed in the height of the latest fashion.

Rob: Don’t be absurd. I am dressed in the newest fashion which I am about to make all the crack. Ask any of my set, they follow my lead in all things sartorial.

Interviewer: Your friend William St. James followed your lead in other matters.

Rob: Ah, now we get to the reason you wanted to talk with me. Yes, William was my dearest friend, we grew up together, and now he is deceased. Accidental gunshot. A sad loss.

Interviewer: Do you feel responsible for his death?

Rob: I do not. No more than I do for the carters who were killed when the horses bolted through town. The way of the world, and ought we can do about it. Now, I do hope you will excuse me for ending this entertaining session, but my bootmaker is awaiting my arrival. Good day.

Well, that was deep. He puts up a good front, but I think the key here is the death of his closest friend. Do check back whenever I get around to publishing his story.

http://www.epiguide.com/ep101/writing/charchart.html

Thanks for reading, and I will be back on Sunday.

