I’m reading a great High Fantasy romance right now by someone I actually know! Is that too cool? Okay, I hang around with Romance Writers of America and on Scribophile, so I do know rather a lot of published authors. But Tameri Etherton is one of the best people I know and made me feel very welcome at RWA meetings. So when she announced the publication of her ebook, The Stones of Kaldaar, first book in her Song of the Swords series, I picked it up right away.

I haven’t put it down yet. I am really enjoying the book, and if you are interested in it, here’s a link. The cover art is just like Tameri herself, full of joy and drama. The good kind of drama. http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-stones-of-kaldaar-tameri-etherton/1120323231?ean=2940046141870

As I read the beginning of the novel, I thought, what would I do if (assuming I am a young woman) life suddenly revealed itself to me as something totally different than anything I expected? And what would I rather have the choice of being? Could I be revealed as the unknown heir to a title and fortune? Or a Messiah on another planet or in another dimension? What if I am a vampire or a werewolf? A sorcerer with untold, untapped powers? So many possibilities.

Let’s look at the pluses and minuses. Today I wake up, open my closet, and instead of the usual selection of fat clothes and skinny clothes, there’s a door! I, of course, open it, and step into a new world. Someone is waiting for me, and tells me I am the new ruler of Slumberistan. I now posses more magic power than I can imagine. But in two weeks, I will fight one on one with the evil Lord Damitall, who is trying to take over my rightful throne. For two weeks, I have maids who will wait on me hand and foot, scrub my back, choose my gowns, make sure I get to meals on time, and bring me books from the library. I have daily exercise in learning to fight with a big, heavy slice of sharp metal, and learning to use this magic I am supposed to have. Those are the pluses. The down side is that in two weeks, I’ll be killed because I can’t learn enough in that short of a time.

Next scenario, please! I’m driving to work, not really paying attention because I know where every little bump in the road lies, and when the traffic will slow down. But I look up, and everything is wrong. I don’t know this road, I don’t remember how I got here. There’s one lane and lots of trees and it’s dark like evening, not morning. The car starts to stall, so I pull over to the side. I get out, and a truly god-like man (a Chris Hemsworth close) approaches me. He tells me I have been sent to this dimension to lead the faithful away from the path of sin, and to convert those sinners who have left the fold. I tell him, “Buddy, you have got the wrong woman! Where’s the party?’ Yeah, not many pluses, especially if there’s celibacy involved.

Moving right along, I finally get to go to Eastern Europe and stay in a castle! I fall asleep in a huge, dusty bed (but I don’t mind the dust, because CASTLE!) only to be woke up by people in my room, arguing. A pair of delicious, half naked men are arguing over which one of them I belong to. I think, I wish my husband was here! I have to choose between a vampire and werewolf. Awesome, but again, not so many plus sides here. Dead or cursed, sucking blood or killing innocents. NEXT!

Same castle, but instead of waking up to arguing beefcakes, I see flashes of very white light under my door. I open it up to find a pair of sorcerers battling with lightning bolts and fire balls and staffs. I think, “I better check out of this place!” and step into the hallway, just as each sorcerer throws their most powerful spell. Hmmm, probably just going to be a pile of ash, now that I think of it. Not even Cinderella.
I guess I’m happiest being someone who thinks up these things, instead of someone who has to live through them. Have a good week, and I’ll be back on Sunday.

