Happy Birthday and Thanks for All the Fish!

No, it’s not Douglas Adams’ birthday. But Monday was the natal anniversary for my beloved husband, and his meal of choice is fish! And we had a wonderful meal at our favorite fish restaurant on Sunday because it would be too crazy to go Monday.

Today is actually the natal anniversary of my son, who is all grown up and independent, but still gives hugs and also likes fish. And good beer. What more could a mom ask for?

I Googled Famous People Born in November. The page I looked at had mostly modern times personalities, half of which I had never heard of, and the other half would pinpoint my age far too closely. Did you know Future was born on November 20th? The rapper, not the floor polish. http://www.famousbirthdays.com/people/future.html

I really wanted to know just which writers were born in November, and so found a site called The Famous People. I had to look through the whole month, day by day. They don’t make this easy.

The list included Will Rogers, George Elliot, St. Francis of Assisi, John Gardner, Jon Stewart, C. S. Lewis, Louisa May Alcott, Abbie Hoffman, Jonathan Swift, Mark Twain, and Lucy Maude Montgomery. I have read most of their works, at least a touch of each. But other than Ms. Alcott, Ms. Montgomery, Mr. Stewart, and Mr. Twain, they aren’t high on my list of authors I love. (Every time I reread the list, I rethink this, and have added a name. Sheesh. Prevaricate much?)

So when was Jane Austen born? December 16th! Lois McMaster Bujold is a November birthday, but wasn’t famous enough for the list! Robert Heinlein, July. Mary Balogh, March.  Diana Gabaldon, January. I tried looking up the birthdays of some of my RWA friends, but they don’t seem willing to part with that information. I can find it in the chapter directory, but that would be cheating. If the author didn’t make it public, I won’t do that.

But here’s my final Ah-ha moment out of this exercise. Just as creative people don’t think any differently than non-”creative” people, they just work harder at it, then you don’t have to be born in a special month to achieve greatness. You don’t have to come from a rich family, you don’t have to pay any dues other than working really hard at every aspect of your craft.

And once I get this posted, I’ll get back to my NaNo novel. At the rate I am going, I can finish by March 4th! But I work better under pressure. I have my anthology story finished, working on a newsletter, and I am going to push hard in December to get the second Regency Banquet story, Main Course: Pure Captivation published.

Have a great week, and I’ll be back on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

