Did you ever wonder why US Citizens needed an official day to remind them to give thanks? Yes, I know other countries also have Thanksgiving days. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thanksgiving Canada mainly has a very similar celebration, and as our neighbors to the north, I think they are mostly thankful their ancestors didn’t settle farther south. But they are too polite to say so. Most of the other celebrations either predate our Thanksgiving or were brought there by roving Americans looking to have a free meal.

Gratitude is good for your health. Being thankful can help you live longer. http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2014/11/27/thanksgiving-gratitude.aspx Gratitude is linked to prayer in the minds of many people. http://christianteens.about.com/od/christianliving/qt/A-Prayer-Of-Gratitude.htm This is nice, but for me too close to giving away my power. Yes, all things are done through Spirit, but I have to be open and aware of that force in my life. I’m grateful for the openness of my heart and mind.

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend.
– Melody Beattie

I’m very grateful for the love I found in my husband, the family we have together, our son who will be with us today, our daughter who is always in our hearts, the birds that entertain us and love us in their own way, our cat, our home, our choices to eat well today and have a gift of fellowship instead of overindulgence, and the affluence that seems to build every year.

What has this to do with writing? Well, I’ll tell you. I’m more grateful than I can say for my gift of spinning stories, enjoying romance in many forms, and learning to put those stories on paper. I’m grateful I learned to touch type, not that I am perfect at it, but it certainly helps my speed in writing so many things every week. I am grateful to those who read my stories and give me feedback. I am so grateful that my love supports me in this endeavor.

But wait! There’s more. Life is never all smooth going. I am grateful for the tests and hurdles that have come up, not that I would complain if they were all behind me now. These struggles make creating conflict in my work easier, because I have been there. And my characters would never be interesting if they were always happy and positive. Picture this:

Heroine: I can’t let myself fall in love with you because you’re too perfect. Sorry.

Hero: Oh, that’s okay. I can be less perfect. How about if I take up smoking or gambling?

Heroine: Darling! That would be perfect!

They kiss and we yawn. I put them back in the idea box, and instead take out a British soldier in 1804, held prisoner in a Belgian farmhouse, and being tortured by the presence of a beautiful young woman. She’s not perfect, he’s in chains, and they both hope I will get on with the writing.

Happy Thanksgiving! I’ll be back on Sunday.

