My villain in my NaNo project, The Way She Moves, is the darkest character I have ever tried to write. And that worries me because my tendency is to give the bad guy a redeeming motive or quality. But Luis is not redeemable in any way. I may kill him off at the end of the story, although he could be handy in the sequels.

To start out, however, I looked up definitions of evil. Wiki, of course, is my first stop. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Evil “Often, evil is used to denote profound immorality. In certain religious contexts, evil has been described as a supernatural force.” So far, so good. There’s a bunch of supernatural elements to the story. But then I read, “The philosophical question of whether morality is absolute, relative, or illusory leads to questions about the nature of evil, with views falling into one of four opposed camps . . .” Philosophy? This is not the University of Wallamaloo! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_f_p0CgPeyA

Dictionary. Com’s first definition is close to what I have in mind. http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/evil “1. morally wrong or bad; immoral; wicked:
evil deeds; an evil life.” And a little farther down, under nouns, “7. the force in nature that governs and gives rise to wickedness and sin.”

A Catholic view of Evil http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/05649a.htm “Evil, in a large sense, may be described as the sum of the opposition, which experience shows to exist in the universe, to the desires and needs of individuals; whence arises, among human beings at least, the sufferings in which life abounds.” Suffering is good. I mean, evil.

When I tire of typing evil, I have a wealth of synonyms to choose from: http://www.thesaurus.com/browse/evil depraved, loathsome, obscene, vile, bad.

Featured image

Here’s my muse for Luis, and I have to say he is not loathsome to look at. In fact, he’s beautiful in a very masculine way. And that goes along with something I picked up years ago. Evil doesn’t always look ugly or bad. http://www.archangels-and-angels.com/misc/fallen_angesl.html “The apocryphal Book of Enoch explains that a group of rebellious angels “left their first estate” (heaven, or the sky) and came down (fell) to Earth to marry human women and have children with them.” “Lucifer, who himself succumbed to pride, was the first and mightiest angel to be created. With intelligence, radiance, beauty, and power unmatched among all of the angels in Heaven, Lucifer was second in majesty only to God Himself.”

A dear friend who is a sister of my heart relayed this past chapter from her life: A million years ago or so I had a boyfriend for a very short time who I found out was an assassin. He killed people for money or other considerations. Looked somewhat like Nicolas Cage. That ain’t ugly, right? Anyway, he was totally immoral. Well, that’s what I would think an evil person would be. He was nice to me, flowers, things like that. He wasn’t a good lover. I understand that he could possibly have wanted my approval as a swain, which explained the flowers, etc., but his pleasure was important to him. Mine wasn’t. This post of yours brought him back to mind instantly. Hadn’t thought of him in years.
To sum up, I have a sexy, immoral, depraved man who has supernatural powers and seeks others in the world from whom he might take more power. He created a fortune and empire through prostitution houses, drug dealing, and gun running. He also ignored the connection between mates, as all shape shifters know there is only one other person in the world who will share their lives. He kidnaps his own son, would have aborted any female children, and is not above using his wife to further his own plans. Sounds evil to me. Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Thursday.

