Comfy Chair

Monty Python fans will immediately recognize that phrase, from the Spanish Inquisition sketch. But I bet nobody expected to see it on this blog! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7WJXHY2OXGE And that’s where they’d be wrong. However, that’s not what my subject is about today.

I have a comfy chair. And it’s torture because I have to leave it sometimes. I can’t sit for more than an hour, hour and a half tops. Luckily the indoor plumbing is close by. One must have a cup of tea while sitting in the comfy chair. The one thing you must have is a cup of tea and a good reading light. The two things you must have are a cup of tea, a good reading light, and a stack of books – The three things. . . Oh, never mind.

I do have some age-related issues in my life, mostly that I can’t believe I am as old as I am, and I still try to do things only a younger person should do. Like read a real book. I love my e-readers and the applications of those on my phone. I always have reading material with me. Back when I had to wait for a ride, or took the bus to work, or whatever, if I forgot my book, I was in for a long, boring wait. These days, that is not a problem.

I also have control over the size of the text, so I can see it without glasses if I wish. Usually there is an increase of pain when you fall asleep reading on a phone or reader, than there used to be with paperbacks, but still less than a hardback, so it’s all good.

But now and then, I have a paperback or hard cover that I want to read, and it’s not convenient to purchase it again in e-format. Such was the case with Georgie Lee’s Rescued from Ruin. http://georgielee.blogspot.com/2014/04/rescued-from-ruin-in-now-available.html Georgie is a real angel that I know from RWA, and I won a copy of this great Regency romance. And I got a copy of Brenda Novak’s Heart of Christmas from the Whiskey Creek series. http://www.brendanovak.com/bookshelf/whiskey-creek-series/the-heart-of-christmas/ On top of that, my favorite book cover is on Sally Orr’s The Rake’s Handbook (Including Field Guide), and she gifted me with a copy to celebrate my retirement. http://www.amazon.com/The-Rakes-Handbook-Including-Field/dp/1492602116 I had to figure out a comfortable way to read, even if just for an hour every day.

Light and lots of it was the first consideration. My Amazon parrot likes to sit on the back of my comfy chair while I read, and he also likes to destroy (pick a noun). I have a floor lamp with an extended hinged arm, and that keeps the lampshade out of beak range but where I get the light I need. Like this, but not bronze and not as fancy. http://www.amazon.com/Pompeii-Bronze-Swing-Floor-Lamp/dp/B003ZWAT7O/ref=sr_1_5?s=lamps-light&ie=UTF8&qid=1418401745&sr=1-5

Then the most difficult compromise. My eyes are and have always been unable to see much of anything clearly. I am near-sighted I think. Anyway, I have always read whenever I could get away with it by not wearing my glasses. Nowadays, that is not an option for real books. The print has shrunk. My arms got shorter. Yeah, all those jokes now hit home. And it’s way past time for me to visit my optometrist. Got that penciled in for next year.

My regular distance glasses are actually no-line trifocals, and they make life interesting. I tried to read using them, and my eyes ached in no time. The lenses are thick and heavy, and I want to take them off after 10 minutes. Not working as planned.

I have a pair of computer glasses, which I highly recommend to anyone who needs spectacles and works with computers. Mine are so comfortable that I often walk around wearing them instead of the regular pair. I have even driven while wearing them, but not on purpose. Just a mistake that I try not to repeat.

So it was that I sat down in my comfy chair with the reading lamp on, picked up the book, and read. And my eyes didn’t get tired. My computer glasses are perfect for reading! This is like the best Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanzaa gift ever. And that reminds me of the classic Twilight Zone episode with Burgess Meredith as the last book nerd left alive. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAxARJyaTEA Glad I got to have a Happy Ever After ending. I’ll be back on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

