These days, it’s really difficult to read a romance novel without the folks involved getting, well, involved. And because I write lots of sex scenes myself (to the point where I am lamenting writing another one), I am always interested in how the author approaches the subject. I thought I would review some of the books I have read recently, because there seems to be a style for each reader’s preferences.

Before I start, I remember a woman I knew from church 40 years ago or so. She would give me Romance novels to read, but being a good woman, if there was any sex in the book, she threw it in the trash. Today, she would have to request extra bins for the project. Times have indeed changed.

I love Sue Seabury’s Miss series, Miss Understanding being the first one I read. http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/390185 These are Young Adult books, and so the sex is simple. Attraction and kissing, and thinking about what else might happen, but nothing overt.

Brenda Novak’ s The Heart of Christmas surprised me. The heat level went way up, but she didn’t provide a lot of detail. Simple fades to the next morning were used, and it worked very well. http://www.amazon.com/The-Heart-Christmas-Whiskey-Creek/dp/0778316394#

If you have read along in this blog for a while, you know I love Regency romances. I could hardly wait to read Rescued from Ruin by Georgie Lee, a close, personal, fellow member of RWA. I was not disappointed. The plot brings together two old flames who have gone their separate ways for a decade or so. The desire flares between them, but their history keeps them apart. When they do, finally, give in to that desire, the moments are magical. http://www.amazon.com/Rescued-Ruin-Georgie-Lee-ebook/dp/B00FTQUQ5O Georgie uses a nice blend of terms for the parts of the body involved, very much in keeping with the historical tone, and explicit details of who is doing what to whom.

Another friend and Regency author, Sally Orr, has one of the most drool-worth covers imaginable. That alone tells the reader that The Rake’s Handbook {including Field Guide} will be hot. The plot is an interesting look at the changes in an agrarian society at the dawning of the Industrial Age. The heroine has a lot of concerns with her handsome neighbor who is fighting his reputation as a rake. She wants to be sure the factory he plans doesn’t harm the water or her beloved home, and that no children will be used, or rather, misused, in the labor there. Neither expects a romance to happen between them, but neither can stop the fire when it starts to burn. There are some humorous uses of farm terms that allows them to talk about their sexual encounters. Again, not too graphic, but hot enough to curl the pages. http://www.amazon.com/The-Rakes-Handbook-Including-Field/dp/1492602116

These books are all romances, not erotica, so the story includes sexual activity between the main characters (except for Sue Seabury’s books, of course) and only at opportune moments that move the story along. The good thing is, romances these days come in many heat levels, and you can find the ones you like easily enough. Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Sunday.

