Goals and Accountability

How would you feel if you asked someone how they could get so much done, and they in turn asked you how you could do so little? That’s a quote from Sir Phillip Adams, a British diplomat. http://izquotes.com/quote/295021 And while it might not be so much diplomatic, it’s true. He goes on to say that people have vast potential, but just don’t make the effort to stop watching sitcoms and DO something. What a terrible waste.

As a writer, it can’t be that hard to write up goals. But Remember, goals have to be measurable, accomplishable, and reasonable. I might have a goal to jump over the tallest building in my town. That goal is measurable, but not reasonable and therefore not likely to be accomplished. If I have a goal to complete a 50,000 word manuscript in a week, well, again it is measurable and might be accomplishable if I do nothing else for a week. But it’s not very reasonable. I’ve always had a goal to lose weight. But without a goal of specific numbers, like two pounds of fat per week released forever, it’s not going to do me any good.

Here I am at the start of a new year, back on Medifast because it worked for me before. However I know me, so I have included some accountability measures this time. I have a notepad in which I write everything I eat each day. At night, my husband can check to see what I consumed. We can discuss how I felt if I went off the diet. He’s not going to chastise me or criticize, and because he wants me to be successful in this goal, he’s going to be positive and encourage me to stay on target.

I have a weight loss support group that meets every week, and is totally free. No one plan is accepted, you can attend if you do Weight Watchers, Medifast, NutriSystems, whatever. The right diet is the one that works for you. The meeting place is in the lobby of a medical building, and we have a scale that is designed for large people. I can chart my weight without having to share it with anyone. But because I want to be accountable, I will share it with my husband.

Writers set goals, that’s what NaNoWriMo is all about. That’s why I am pushing myself to map my stories and chart my daily word count. And soon I will have a quiet place where I can take a laptop without the temptation of on-line distractions and focus on my writing time. The house may look noticeably messier once I start to do that, but that’s not really a bad thing. So set your goals, pick someone you trust to be your Accountability Buddy, and get up out of your computer chair whenever you can. Walk around your yard or parking lot if you can, and be aware and focused. A healthy body will create more. Thanks for reading, I’ll be back touring more states by books on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

