Using books to see the world and then travel across the USA, I have recommended a few books that sounded interesting to me but I had not read. I wanted to read them. And now I can tell you I have read two of them. Well, two more of them. And I want you to know how good they have been.

The first one is Good Grief: A Novel by Lolly Winston. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/251519.Good_Grief?ac=1 This one attracted my attention because a family member had been recently widowed, and I thought the book might appeal to her as she worked through her own sorrow. The situations are very different, but still, some of the basics are the same across the board.

Take note that this is not a Romance. It might be chick lit. Lots of readers think that, apparently. The female main character doesn’t meet her love interest until nearly half way through the book. Well, she does kind of meet him, but not the way you expect it to go. And there’s no firm happy ever after ending, but the ending is so delightful, I hope that won’t discourage anyone.

Sophie is so wonderfully eccentric, and so adrift without the stabilization of her husband in her life any longer. She has hair that is willful, she thinks 25 pounds make her fat, and she thinks every baby is asking her why she doesn’t have her own baby.

She also takes in strays, and the teen she is matched up with reminds me so much of my own daughter, it scared me. The girl, Crystal, is berated and put down by her mother. She is desperately missing her father, a hero she has constructed from the little information she has about him. And she deals with the pain of life and her feelings by cutting. I just cried.

You don’t have to have lost a spouse to enjoy this novel. It’s a great read and a nice way to sooth feelings for any loss in your life. Lolly Winston is now on my Must Read list.

The second book is a paranormal romance, How to Flirt With a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8182682-how-to-flirt-with-a-naked-werewolf
The female main character, Mo, is eccentric, but she has nice, straight, manageable hair. She meets the wolf of her dreams early on, and when she realizes he is a werewolf, she takes it really well. Part of that is from the very strange upbringing she had. But part of it is from the He’s-The-One sense she gets from Cooper. One thing I loved about the book is the secondary male character who is sweet, good looking, and would be so easy to love. The writer creates him as a real person, and not to spoil things for you, but he gets his own happy ever after. The message seems to be, Ladies, go to Alaska to meet a handsome man who is husband material.

Well, as long as you don’t mind him peeing on the door step to mark his territory. Or talking in a canine language to your dachshund. And not being able to keep track of his clothes after he changes into a wolf, so he ends up naked a lot. One would think he would have frostbite on certain really important parts.

The odd thing about these two books, both heroines ended up in food service. They both brought new and wonderful changes to the places where they became employed. Do you know how hard it is to stay on a diet while reading about savory cheese cakes and chocolate chess squares? I vow I will never write a story where a character is a cook. Unless he or she is a really bad one.

Thanks for reading. I’ll be back on Thursday.

