Now, I Are One

Back around the dawn of creation, a certain institute of learning ran a commercial about getting certified in a field that you couldn’t spell until you signed up with them. The joke version went, “Two years ago I could not spell college student. Now, I are one.”

I know the feeling. I am scratching this out long hand, pen and paper, while waiting for the beginning of a workshop I’m running at a local convention. No big deal as I have run this workshop before at past conventions. I have another workshop scheduled for Sunday, as well, and also one I have done before.

What astonishes me is that I am speaking on two panels. As a published author. Like a real writer and stuff. The first one is “You got Monsters in My Romance.” Okay, I can talk to that subject. I am dabbling in a shape-shifter romance, as I have discussed on here before. And if we define “monster” as supernatural, my Greek god in the Bowman’s Inn anthologies qualifies.

The second panel is “Self-Publishing: What Really Happens.” I guess I can tell everyone not to do what I did. Don’t wait almost a year to get the second book out. Don’t skimp on self-promotion. And don’t trust a loved one who isn’t quite as in to the process with a critical job. Maybe I will just sit at the end and not say much. Smile and wave.

Now I have transcribed this onto my computer and I have survived one workshop and one panel. The workshop was not advertised, so no one really knew what it was and one person showed up. She was a fun geeky young woman, and we had fun.

The panel was fun, not only did I get a few laughs, I got names of books to look into. I shared favorite movies and we talked about the problems with immortals falling in love with mortals. Why would a vampire want to keep as a mate one of its herd, its food source? I love fans, they think of these things as if the answers are very important. And the other panelist, Doug Welch, is a pleasure to work with. I can’t wait to find his books, and anticipate his Monster Romance one coming soon, Watcher’s Demon.

The best part of this weekend is the feeling of being a successful writer, a good teacher, and an entertaining speaker. Don’t know if those were my life goals, but I won’t complain. Achievement Unlocked. Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Thursday, maybe with an update on the last day of the convention.

Leave a Reply

