Reading and Romance

My husband taught me so much about romance! We’ve been togther for 20 years, and in that time he has shown me that physical beauty is nothing compared to intelligence and a sense of humor. I don’t understand what he sees in me, and probably never will. Likewise, he doesn’t get why strange women flirt with him, and I can’t get enough of my honey.

One of the best aspects of our relationship is that we both love to read. We understand not to interrupt a person who is reading. Unless there’s fire or blood, and it better be someone we care about who is bleeding. Reading is serious stuff.

Featured image

Mike used to read to me at night. I am hoping some day that might again be a part of our nightly rituals. I’ve listened to most of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld books, most of Lois McMaster Bujold’s Barryar series, and random fun like Cryptonomicon and Heinlein’s Juveniles. How can you not love a man who cries every time he reads the end of Podkayne of Mars?

Featured image

We have just as much fun reading the same book at the same time. I assigned myself to read Stephen King’s The Stand, and Mike reread it at the same time. I am a much slower reader than he is, but because I have lots of time most days, I got ahead of him for a bit. I had to take breaks during that book, and read lighter romances to keep my spirits up. We finished at about the same time.

Featured image

I am always surprised when Mike reads a romance that I recommended or just talked about. He loved Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series so much, he read them twice, and can’t stand that it will take 4 years for the next one to be published! I’m on the second of Molly Harper’s marvelous werewolf series. I was telling Mike about it and he stopped me. “Don’t tell me too much, I’m reading the first one.”

“You’re reading a paranormal romance?” He nodded. My whole day became brighter. Well, to be honest, he’s read all of my stuff, and as my personal editor, will get to read all of it for many years to come. When he formatted the Spring book for The Bowman’s Inn, we both enjoyed the results of his reading erotic romance.

Featured image

This Saturday is the annual Birthday Party for Mysterious Galaxy Bookstore. This wonderful shop specializes in science fiction and mysteries. They have author signings of amazing stature. Thanks to them, Mike and I were able to listen to Terry Pratchett speak on two different occasions, and Lois McMaster Bujold on one occasion. Of course we got their autographs. So you better believe we will be attending their party and buying a few new books.  http://www.mystgalaxy.com/event/MG-SD-22nd-Birthday-Bash

Love makes our world go around, and books keep us together. I’ll be back on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

