Head to Toe Health

Not many weeks ago, a friend invited me to hike around the San Diego Safari Park with her. After we exhausted ourselves walking, we took the tram ride around the large open spaces. That was how I realized my years-old glasses needed to be updated. I could hardly see the incredible sights out there, including a gazelle that was born within 40 minutes or so of the tram passing by.

Featured image

Eye exams are an important part of our health routine, since eye strain can lead to headaches with can leech all the creativity out of a person. My optometrist also has a camera that photographs my eye inside, and can watch for signs of a stoke or heart attack. My results showed my eyes changing from near sighted to far sighted, and no signs of anything new coming along. I do have slight cataracts starting, so my doctor insisted I wear those Solar Shield sun glasses. You know, the ones that fit over your regular glasses? I’m doing okay with them, just not thrilled with the look. I can pay lots more and get hand painted ones, but for now I will deal. http://solarshield.com/

Next on my personal health improvement journey will be a dentist appointment. It’s been years since I had my teeth cleaned professionally. I have that common fear of dentists, not just of pain, but of the looks of astonishment at the state of my teeth. The ones I have left are in pretty good shape, and thankfully I haven’t lost any in my smile range.

I do get a new toothbrush head on my battery operated brush every two months, which cuts down on the bacteria growth found there. I also use a pre-brushing rinse so that I can get rid of as much yuck as possible while brushing. And for a long time now, I haven’t had any issues with teeth hurting or getting an abscess. But I still need to see a dentist and someday actually get implants to replace those teeth I lost.

Featured image

Gum infections have been linked to heart disease, so brushing and flossing regularly are easy things you can do to improve your health. http://www.webmd.com/heart-disease/features/periodontal-disease-heart-health So put a note up to remind yourself to brush if you need to. If you are already a regular with this habit, congratulations!

The last thing that I need to invest in concerns my feet. Did you know that the very best exercise equipment you can invest in are a pair of good shoes? Here’s a list of the best walking shoes for 2015. Because new technology happens all the time. http://www.the-fitness-walking-guide.com/best-rated-walking-shoes.html

I love the advice there to take the time to go to a fitness footwear store and let the sales clerk measure and analyze your feet. It mentions “the shape and design of your feet.” Really? I doubt my feet were designed! When I was 18 and overweight, I walked 19 miles in one of the very first charity drive walks ever. The Walk for Mankind was a heap of fun, but at the end I was limping and in pain. I didn’t have good shoes for walking, just flat tennies. Years later, a doctor told me I had broken a bone in the foot, so even now I have some serious pain when I don’t warm up, stretch, use muscle rubs, and wear really good shoes. Whatever design my foot started with has long since been overridden by my happenstances.

Featured image

Luckily I walk at the mall in bad weather. And there are shoe stores there that will help me out. It’s easier to get new shoes and glasses than go to the dentist, but all these things are important to your health. Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

