Time to Brag

Twenty some years ago when I first threw my writing hat into the ring, I knew a number of writers who had been published. I met them through Romance Writers of America. We were acquaintances, not really close friends. My close friends were in my critique group, and not one of them had yet been published.

Currently, I know many more writers, and a lot more of them have been published. I know them through RWA and Scribophile. I know some through conventions. I have contacted some through their fan web pages. And I am closer to many more of them now than I was in the past. I think that’s why I am feeling more confident as a writer.

Featured imageFeatured image

Basically, Scribophile didn’t exist two decades ago. And self-publishing had a very negative connotation. Also, I still had my shyness draped around me because I was old and overweight and single. Now I learned a lot more about romance from my husband, have lost some weight, and gotten older but I feel younger. I have Scribophile and I have self-published. But enough about me! (Where’s that shyness when you need it?)

My wonderful friends, some of whom I only have met through Scribophile and Facebook, encompass a bushel of Debut Authors! How exciting! I want to introduce you to them and encourage you to pick up their works.

Tameri Etherton is an RWA member, very active in my chapter, and still she manages to put out stunning fantasy romances. She’s published two out of three books in her first series, The Song of Swords. I love this world she created, the way male magic and female magic work alone or together, and all the wonderfully real characters that populate her world. She’s also the queen of glittery things that includes tiaras and sparkly dragons. http://www.amazon.com/Tameri-Etherton/e/B00N6XJFYK/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Featured imageFeatured image

Kishan Paul I know through Scribophile, and I can’t praise her enough. She was a guiding force through the evolution of the Bowman’s Inn Anthology, and sadly had to bow out of the project so her first romance could meet deadlines. Blind Love is one of those stories you read, thinking you know what’s going to happen. Then out of left field, something happens that you just didn’t expect, but it makes perfect sense. And having a main character who is blind pushes the author to use other senses to describe and set the scenes. Amazing work. Kishan also has a short story in another anthology, Love Least Expected. Her work is titled Taking the Plunge. http://www.amazon.com/Kishan-Paul/e/B00PMVR9MO/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_7

Featured image

Anna Brooks has three books in a series and a stand-alone, but the heat in these romances makes them glow. Keep some water nearby, okay? Not Your Hero pushes two broken characters together in unusual circumstances as they resist what would fix them. I love that Anna foreshadowed something in the early chapters, and I still was surprised when the inevitable happened. Excellent craftsmanship. http://www.amazon.com/Anna-Brooks/e/B00P5WPLFC/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1435781518&sr=1-1

Featured image

Like Kishan and Anna, I met Nikki Belaire through Scribophile and had the pleasure of reading some of her early chapters of Wine and Whiskey. And as happens when you get busy, I lost track of all the last chapters. But I could not wait to buy it and read it, to find out how these two characters could come together. They really are worlds apart, but making it work had to be a labor of love. Because work it certainly does. http://www.amazon.com/Nikki-Belaire/e/B00X8Y9SIK/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1435781712&sr=1-1

Featured image

Last but not least, hey, it’s me! Well, I have had a small part as Roxanna Haley in the fun Bowman’s Inn Anthology. But in the summer book that will be released July 15th, I get to write a short story as D.L. Hungerford. I am so excited to have something in that name now. It’s a sweet love story, so I won’t mind if my sister reads it. It’s all good!

Featured image

Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

