Sometimes you write a character and you can see the person. You can hear their voice. You can have long, meaningful conversations with this person. You know their favorite color. You know what they studied in school. You know who they are going to vote for in the next election. You have created a well-rounded person whom your readers will enjoy and want to read all about.

Or did you forget something? Besides making love to your other main character, does this person have a hobby? What do they do in their free time? Are they good at it, or just learning?

My nutritionist suggests hobbies like knitting and painting to keep me from overeating. If my hands are busy, I won’t be reaching for the Double Stuff Oreos. Not that I like Double Stuff Oreos. Just saying. Even better are hobbies that keep a person moving and not sitting very long at a time.

Featured imageFeatured image

When you read the Summer edition of The Bowman’s Inn Anthology, you’ll meet a character named Rusty who is hired to tend bar. In passing, we learn that Rusty drives a restored Classic Chevy. That’s all I say about it, but for Rusty, restoring cars is his hobby. He also works out at the gym every day, and donates time to help kids at the Y train to be physically fit. None of this has come out yet, but it will. Over the next year or so, more of his hobbies and lifestyle will be revealed. I thought when I first created Rusty that he would be gay. I wanted something for everyone in the pub. But turns out, he’s not. He fell in love with another character, and insisted on getting together with her. So I reduced my cast by one and had Rusty put the moves on Pepper. That’s how it works when you know your characters.

Featured image

You’ll also meet Nate and Charlene in the Anthology. Nate is a werewolf. Charlene is an office worker who daydreams about finding Mr. Right. She’s going to school but it’s summer, so she’s making use of the extra hours to stop in at the pub for coffee, and enjoy the beautiful day. Nate is a detective working undercover with a group of criminals. This group has been getting away with bank robbery after bank robbery. Nate got into the group and is determined to stop their winning streak. And Charlene happens to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Featured imageFeatured image

These two really haven’t been telling me much about themselves. But I plan to write more about them, and hopefully they will talk to me about their hobbies and interests. For Char, this is her first serious relationship, and for Nate, this is his first relationship with a non-shifter. He can’t find the right way to tell her. Maybe if she dresses as Little Red Riding Hood for Halloween?

Featured image

Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Thursday.

