I spend many hours looking at blogs and books that will tell me the best way to write a book, define a character, improve my story arc, help me connect with my audience, and sell a bazillion copies of the book on line. So I am not going to talk about any of that. That stuff has been covered to the point of exhaustion. I’m going to whine, I mean, explain, why books don’t get written.

1. The biggest reason is that the author gives up. A young woman I know always wanted to be able to pick up something and be perfect at it. She didn’t want to invest the time and practice into anything so she never became more than okay at anything. Writing is not easy. Writers are not so different from sculptors who take a granite block (idea) and chip away anything that is not the statue (book). Don’t give up, and don’t get discouraged.

Featured imageFeatured imageFeatured image

2. Writers find anything else to do when they should be writing. I have this blog, a blog about my birds, a humor blog, and I keep tabs on a group blog. I manage 5 pages and 4 groups on Facebook. I mentor on-line workshops for my RWA chapter. I manage 4 groups on Scribophile. I have birds who need to be fed, watered, cleaned, and talked into mating. I like to keep my house this side of Hoarders material. And I need to exercise. I’m thinking I might have to give up sleep in order to write.

Featured image

3. Lucky me, my kids are grown up and living on their own. My husband is my only distraction in the evenings, most nights. But one of my younger writerly friends shared that she sent her kids to their rooms because they were fighting. Their bedrooms share a wall. They each stood as close as they could to that wall and shouted at each other. I would find that distracting. Also the every ten minutes, “Mom, I need (fill in the blank)” that goes with the mom territory. See, I was a step mom. The kids still came to me instead of the dad. Go figure.

Featured image

4. Start on your book, a great idea you can’t believe you thought of and you can’t wait to finish. Around Chapter 8, you get another great idea! You write it down, but that’s not enough. You have to get these characters and the situation down on paper. Round Chapter 12, you get another idea. I’m thinking short stories are my best bet.

Featured image

I know there are more things you can let get in your way. I also know I find time to play solitaire on Facebook. Really, it’s up to me to keep focused, keep going, and to be productive without wasting time. I would love it if you would share with me any things that get in your way, or any methods you have to overcome these issues.

Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Sunday.

