Clutter is my nemesis. Flat spots disappear in the blink of an eye under a crush of mail and notebooks. I love having people over so that I can clean my house, but sadly the piles of stuff often get put into boxes and stacked elsewhere with my promise of getting right back to it in a couple days.

Surprisingly, our bills are paid on time, our cars registered before the deadline, and our taxes filed before April. Those type of things never go in the box. Just the odd drifts of things that need to be reviewed but not immediately.

012116

I have so many stories like that. Ideas floating in boxes in my memory, patiently waiting for the day when I will have time to look in there and mold it into a working novel. No one is more surprised than I am to find that retirement didn’t give me unlimited time to work on my writing.

I usually get my blog posts up on time. I make daily posts on Facebook under several guises. I get my short stories for the anthologies up in time. But I just don’t seem to have time for the second book in the Regency Banquet series, or any other bits I have been stuffing into boxes until the time is right.

012116 desk

Almost this neat.

The largest factor of my writing issues is that I don’t dedicate a certain part of each day to writing. I have mornings to walk and three times a week I work out with a friend. Every three hours I feed baby birds right now. I clean and feed and water birds daily. I clean the house and I wash the dishes. I do the laundry. I am pretending we don’t have yards. Shopping happens at least three days out of the week.

012116 priority

Weekends I have meetings, I have people over, I take the dog out for play dates. Tuesday nights I attend a support group and take notes on the topics. These I then type up and email to the group.

012116 jane

Simplicity worked for Jane Austen.

The best time for me to write is for an hour in the evening after I cook dinner and put away the leftovers. I do have to wait until my husband runs out of things to read to me from Fark and Facebook. But eventually, I get to open a box and look at the magic parts stuffed into it.

012116 wonderful

Don’t get me wrong, I love my life and I know I am where I am due to my own wants and workings. Now to just relax, accept what is in my world, and make things work out for the best.

Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Sunday.

