Stretching the Truth

Note: On the last Sunday of every month, I address staying healthy while writing. Because the longer you live, the more stories you can get out of your head.

We’ve made it past Thanksgiving, the winter holidays of our family’s choice, the alcoholic haze that welcomes in the New Year, the SuperBowl, and Valentine’s Day. We can make it past the chocoholic frenzy that is Spring and Easter, after which we can diet without distraction.

Except for Aunt Betty’s 90th birthday party. And Cindy’s Quincenaria. Oh, and your sister’s 50th wedding anniversary. Cousin Terry’s daughter’s first baby’s christening. Graduation. Mother’s Day. Father’s Day. Weddings. Independence Day.

022816 cake

Yeah, the holiday season continues year ’round. We can’t excuse ourselves from healthy eating habits for just this event, because that sets a precedence of letting ourselves off easy. Healthy dietary choices are not always easy. Because when was the last time you had a craving for carrots and broccoli?

022816 farm to fork

I have a good amount of fat to get rid of forever, and I’m managing by being strict with myself. I make sure I walk every day, I eat lean and green, farm to fork, at least 80% of the time. I do my best to stay positive and to help others around me stay positive. And I attend a weekly support group for weight loss. I take notes and post them for the other members of the group.

We have two very talented and knowledgeable nutritionists who lead the group, and a trainer who comes in one a month or so. I’ve learned a lot from this team. And here’s the number one thing I learned that has helped me in so many special occasions temptations.

Don’t wear loose clothes. Don’t wear elastic waist bands. Wear something comfortable but form fitting. Use the tightness of your clothes to indicate when you have maybe had one canape too many. Don’t let it all hang out, give yourself a demarcation of reaching a limit.

Along with that, if the party is a potluck, bring something healthy that you like. I love cauliflower mashed like potatoes. I love sugar peas and cherry tomatoes. And if you haven’t tried roasted brussel sprouts, you are missing a treat.

022816 writer on floor

The old adages from weight loss history also have some usefulness. Use small plates. Drink 8 ounces of water before the party. Have a protein shake or bar so you aren’t starving when you get there. Focus on the community, being with friends and loved ones, instead of eating. And if Uncle Billy insists you try his caramel apple pie with real whipped cream, don’t say no. That will just make him more insistent. Say “Maybe later,” then ask him what he thought of that movie everyone is talking about.

Did you think I was going to say you could have some pie? Well, I often take a bit from whatever my husband is eating, but I have to be very careful. He can’t say no to me, and I abuse my powers all to easily. But what I eat and how I think about food is totally in my control. I give you the power to be in control of your own life.

Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

