Early in my life, I discovered Fantasy in movies and books. If memory serves, my first exposure was through the animated Disney movie, The Sword and The Stone. That was closely followed by Alakazam the Great, another animated movie from Japan, involving a monkey king who learns an important lesson about life. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alakazam_the_Great

I dove into Stephen Donaldson’s Thomas Covenant series, and somewhere along there I discovered Romance. Ah, what a wonderful place, where there is magic and love. I’ve yet to try my hand at writing such things, but I love reading about it. And the covers of the books are amazing.

The popular Romance theme right now is dragon shifters. I love most paranormal books, but doesn’t adding a dragon, a mythological creature, make it Fantasy? Well, let’s look at some covers and decide, shall we?

031016 taken by dragon

Taken by a Dragon, the seventh book in New York Times best-seller Felicity Heaton’s hot paranormal romance series, Eternal Mates, makes me think paranormal due to the tattoo of the dragon. But the information on Goodreads tells me it’s all fantasy. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23010565-taken-by-a-dragon?from_search=true&search_version=service

031016 dragon force

Soul Scorched by Donna Grant again looks like a paranormal romance, no tattoo but an image superimposed on the nice gentleman. Ahem. In the reviews on Goodreads, I don’t find any mention of him shifting, so it’s more fantasy, less paranormal, right? https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23127782-soul-scorched?from_search=true&search_version=service

031016 dragons mate

The cover looks much like a paranormal romance, but The Dragon’s Mate: A BBW Dragon Shifter Romance, Jane Rowe, Shifter Club caught my eye for the BBW tag. Curvy girls with dragons? Get outta town! The humans can’t have male babies, the dragons can’t have girls. A match made in some rather fantastic realm. But this one seems more paranormal than fantasy to me. Love the warining on Goodreads: When reading, please keep a cool glass of water in arms reach at all times. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26141219-the-dragon-s-mate?from_search=true&search_version=service

031016 dragons queen

What draws you in to a book when you look at the cover? For me, this cover is amazing. The Dragon’s Queen (Dragon Lords) by Michelle M. Pillow Dragon-Shifter Romance, shows a man about to shift or unshift, scales barely showing on his arm and back. Nice! And it features the only woman dragon shifter I have encountered in my search. This whole series takes place on somewhere besides earth, so another win for fantasy. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22676258-the-dragon-s-queen?from_search=true&search_version=service

031016 stones cover

I’ll finish up today with a fantasy series that I love, and I cannot wait for the third book to come out. Tameri Etherton is not only a talented writer, she is a sweet, funny, supportive, eager helper to other writers and amazing in all she is able to do. Her first book in the Song of Swords trillogy is The Stones of Kaldaar, and look at that beautiful cover! https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23199604-the-stones-of-kaldaar?from_search=true&search_version=service

Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Sunday.

