Maximum Effort

Okay, okay. I admit to being a huge Deadpool nerd. I am newly converted, not one of those lucky souls who read the comics way back when. But nonetheless, I love the character. Really. And his Maximum Effort mantra feels right at home as I stay on the path of healthy eating and activities.

I don’t eat 100% healthy food every day. I sneak a little bit of sugar free chocolates into my afternoons. I have the occasional slice of toast or a tiny boiled potato, usually on the weekends. But as long as I keep to 80% on program, 20% hell yes, I do okay.

032716 deadpool

Perhaps you are wondering what gives me the right to expound on health things in this way. Well, before I retired, I was the health liaison for my office. I organized Walk Across America contests, I spoke at staff meetings about fun things to do, I espoused salad bar potlucks, and I walked every day.

032716 not a diet

Thanks to the Medifast program, I lost 70 pounds, leaving me with only another hundred to lose. Perhaps you remember the economic downturn not-a-recession event that happened recently? Yeah, my husband lost his job and we couldn’t afford Medifast for a couple years. I did my best to stay on the healthy lifestyle path, but a stressful job, a stressful financial situation, and a basket of depression on the side made it really difficult. Still, I am proud that in that time, I only put back on twenty (20) pounds.

032716 cleaver bastard

I am now back on Medifast, but I am doing my own program, kind of a maintenance thing. I added a little fruit and slowly find things to change. For instance, I used to have an apple with peanut butter. But peanut butter, while a very healthy snack in moderation, became a hell yes more than 20% of the time. So I traded it for non-fat Greek yogurt and a sprinkle of PB2 on top. So very good, and so very healthy.

The good news is, I have lost a steady 2 pounds per week. I am once again within 100 pounds of my goal weight. By this time next year, I will have nailed it.

032716 stop waiting

And believe me, I know it’s not just the eating that has made this wonderful change happen. My dog Tilda is a strange beast. She won’t do her business inside the house or inside the yard. Nope. Not her. She must be walked, twice a day. As often as possible, I take her to a nearby lake with a wonderful walking trail. We make three loops which is about 2.2 miles.

And my VivoFit from Garmin helped me at my Romance Writers of America meeting on Saturday. I took advantage of breaks to go walk around outside the meeting room. I got my goal steps plus that day.

032716 love myself

Speaking of which, the nagging red line is telling me I need to do some walking. Best of luck to you if you are working on a weight goal, no matter how much. Be sure you have support, a good pair of shoes, and a positive attitude. Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

