Part of my enjoyment of on-line writer communities comes from getting to know new and evolving authors who bring enthusiasm and a fresh point of view along with their talent.

Ivy Nelson is a 30-year-old romance/erotica/mystery writer living in Houston, Texas with her husband. Ivy has been writing for as long as she can remember and read her first romance at the age of fourteen. You could say it was love at first site. Since then, Ivy has read anything she can get her hands on. While she has always loved writing, she let that hobby sit on the back burner while pursuing a degree in political science and higher education. The love for writing never left. In 2015, Ivy decided to give up her day job and focus on writing the type of thing she loves to read. Her first book will be available for purchase in the Fall of 2016. In her free time, Ivy enjoys cooking, travel, wine tasting and singing really old country music at karaoke bars. You can find her at:

http://www.Ivynelsonbooks.wordpress.com

https://twitter.com/Ivy_Nelson_

I had a chance to ask Ivy a few questions.

071016 Ivy Nelson

DH. Your blog page is really cute and topical. I see you are participating in Camp NaNo (A summer version of National Novel Writing Month). What are your feelings on NaNoWriMo?

IN. NaNoWriMo has a very special place in my heart. I participated for the first time in 2013. The story I wrote was awful but for the first time, I actually finished something. I now participate in the November event every year and I also take part in both the April and July camps. I think NaNoWriMo works for me because it brings out the competitor in me. I’m not competing against anyone but myself  though so there are no hard feelings. It’s also a very social event if you want it to be. I attend write-ins when I can and I always take part in the word sprints that are hosted on Twitter. This camp I’m working on a brand new series that I’m really excited about.

071016 nano
DH. So, what have you written?

 IN. I have written a handful of short stories that are currently being workshopped before I publish them. The series of short stories I’m most excited about is my wine and sex series. Each story is a piece of erotica that involves a glass of wine. I explore a number of sexual themes and I’m excited to start publishing them. I’m also in the editing phase of a novel that is the first of three romantic thrillers set in Washington D.C. There is a heavy BDSM theme and there is plenty of action (in every sense of the word). Finally, I am working on a series called Vegas Vigilante. I’m not ready to reveal any major details on that yet.

DH. Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day?

IN. During NaNoWriMo, I aim for at least 2,000 words a day. The rest of the time I just aim to write something every day. I’ve found that if I force myself to sit down and start writing I’ll always hit at least the 1,000-word mark.

071016 author at work

DH. Do you prefer to write series or stand-alone novels?

IN. So far everything I’ve written has been in series form. I’ve got a 50 novel plan in which all of the novels will be connected in some way. The cool thing about them is that readers won’t have to read them in a specific order. There will be some that could be considered trilogies within the set of 50 novels. When they are all done, they will take readers on a fun journey across the U.S. and around the world.

071016 difference between

DH. Did you do a press release, Goodreads book launch or anything else to promote your work and did it work?

IN. I haven’t officially published anything yet but I am planning a big launch and some kind of press release. I’m also trying to get a blog tour together.

Thanks, Ivy, and thanks everyone for reading. I’ll be back on Thursday.

