Release Day

I am excited to share with you that I finished the second book in the Regency Banquet series (written as Roxanna Haley) and it is available TODAY on Amazon and Smashwords. I want to share also the journey on my way to getting this work finished. Regency Banquet – Entree: Pure Captivation.

090116 heart wreath

Some time ago when I wanted to get my name – that is, my pen name – out in front of readers, I had a good friend give me some great advice. Write a trilogy and get all three books out in a year. This was the plan, but as with any plan it didn’t survive for long. A year later, I finally got the novella Regency Banquet – Appetizer: Pure Seduction up for sale. I had it for sale a couple months before I would be retiring from my day job, so I optimistically thought I could finish book 2 in three months.

Cover 01
The first book in the series, available on Amazon.

One thing no one tells you about retirement is that if you are a busy person, you will fill your free time with more busy-ness. Hence I have been involved with my parrots and finches, I have been getting my yard in better shape, and I have been looking at a possible move in 8 years. If you could see my garage, you would know why I have to start planning now.

110815 lady at the piano

Two years have gone by. The plot of the book changed, the supporting characters expanded, and I have a complex story of a damaged princess and the soldier who “rescues” her. I put rescues in quotes because he gives her permission to be herself and to be in charge. Then he stands back and loves her.

cover 2

I’ve had a lot of fun getting this next chapter in the Curtis Family story finished and available to readers. Now I am working on the final book in the trilogy, Dessert, of course. But that’s not the end of the characters’ stories. I have a short scene in Entree that introduces Captain Christopher “Kit” Dash and the woman who captures his heart. We have to find out what happens to the rest of the refugees from Entree, and there’s a certain novice monk who might discover he would rather not stay in the monastery.

012416 the end

As my writing career continues, I am thankful for all of you who read this blog and enjoy the information I share. You are an excellent on-line family. Thank you so much. I’ll be back on Sunday.

2 thoughts on “Release Day

  1. Congratulations! And getting 3 books out in one year is good advice. With a book series it’s always the waiting for the next book that can be so frustrating for readers. This way should help lessen the waiting time for readers. Of course even a well made plan can fall apart. I still have my day job but even when I have free time to write I find ways to keep myself busy doing something else. smh. Congrats again.

    1. Thank you! I have been very blessed to have so much time for writing these days. Stick with it, and you will reach your goal. Hope you have some real life or on-line support groups, because it’s never easy.

Leave a Reply

