I’m very lucky to attend a weekly weight-loss support group where we talk about nutrition, road blocks to health, and one per month we have our own personal trainer come in and work with us. I feel that luck so deeply that I give back to the group by writing up the weekly notes. I’m a writer, it’s the best thing I can do for the group.

A recent topic on hoarders gave us the insight that many people who have excess weight are also hoarders. I know that my own mother hoarded, and she was always a heavy woman. Luckily she didn’t get into animals, limiting herself to one dog at a time. But she had clothes, papers, books, kitchenware, patio furniture, and so much more in boxes everywhere. She even told me once that she was just going to let my sister, brother, and I clean it up when she was gone.

0902516-hoarder-def

And that’s what we did. Basically, we took what we wanted for mementos or could use, and the apartment manager arranged for the disposal of everything else. If Mom envisioned us going over each scrap of paper and each box of books, she was far off the mark. https://www.adaa.org/understanding-anxiety/obsessive-compulsive-disorder-ocd/hoarding-basics

092516-mental-toxins

To be sure, hoarding is a mental illness now being looked at as similar to Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) that usually starts in teenagers. And this bullet point from the Mayo Clinic sums up why it creates weight issues in the sufferers: Difficulty managing daily activities because of procrastination and trouble making decisions. Go for a walk? Go outside? Find room for fresh foods? All difficult for a hoarder to manage. http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/hoarding-disorder/basics/definition/con-20031337

 

092516-digital-hoarder

Forgot about this. I have emails from friends who have passed away. I can’t delete them!

 

When I worked for a living, in social services the case workers had a “Desk Day” when they didn’t schedule clients and worked on things at their desk that needed to be moved along. Being retired, I don’t have a scheduled desk day. I’m looking at the piles of paper and books and trash sitting around my desk. At least I don’t have a problem throwing things away, I just have a problem finding time to do it. Because writing, cleaning, pets, friends, social activities.

 

092516-trashes-house

A real hoarder’s stuff

 

 

the-cabana

My stuff. One room if you don’t count the garage.

 

My kitchen is clean. My dining room table gets completely cleaned off one every week. The living room is clean, almost. But the spare room is a disaster. The bird room and the master bedroom are in decent shape, and the bathrooms are cleaned regularly. So there’s a chance I’m only partially a hoarder.

Now I need to talk to my fat cells, thank them for being there when I thought I needed them, and assure them they can go on their way. Take a deep breath and exhale, because science has learned we release fat when we exhale. Next month I will explore some of the things that happened in my childhood that contribute to my thoughts that food will solve all my problems. Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Thursday.

