Happy mid-March! I am relieved to know that Spring is just a week and a day away. This winter was particularly hard, so more sunlight is exactly what I need. And today we set the clocks back. Don’t like losing that hour but glad to have the sun hang around a bit.

Today is also my day to introduce you to a writer that I met on-line and enjoy so much as a friend and a spinner of tales. She’s also the organizing force behind the Valentine’s Day Anthology that carried her short story, Val’n’Tiny. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MYDFU8N

031217 valentine

I caught up with her just after the self-publication of her story, Luck o’ the (non) Irish. Don’t you love that cover? https://www.amazon.com/Luck-Irish-Haven-Police-Romance-ebook/dp/B06X4175RB/ref=sr_1_sc_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1488136322&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=luck+o+the+nonIrish We had a few minutes to chat.

031217 luck o the non irish

DLH: What advice would you give to your younger self?

RGT: To live in the moment. Absorb all the beautiful details around me. I feel like I rushed through everything, had so many obligations to take care of, that I didn’t pay attention to the people I loved and the places I visited. The sad thing is, I knew it at the time. It’s much easier said than done, but I really wish I would have listened to myself.

071016 author at work

DLH: What drew you to write in this genre?

RGT: Well, to be honest, it’s because there’s a guaranteed happily ever after. Real life is so full of tragedy and heartache, and when I read a book, I want to know ahead of time, no matter how much hardship the characters endure, that in the end, everything will turn out okay. And those are the stories I want to write, too. Now if only we could make that happen in real life…

 

DLH: What part of your writing time to you devote to marketing your book?

RGT: Not a whole lot at this point. I don’t have much published yet, but will publish several more books this year, including short stories and a couple novels. I’m really starting to hit the social media hard. I hope no more than five hours a week, but it seems social media has this way of leaching your time away. I’m less familiar with the other marketing tactics, so I need to be working on that.

112716-scales

DLH: What are your ambitions for your writing career?

RGT: Well now, this should be an obvious question, shouldn’t it? But actually, I’ve never thought about it. I’d like to make a little money, maybe enough to pay some bills, but that’s about it. I enjoy the writing and everything involved with it, and that’s enough for me.

DLH: Any amusing stories about marketing books that happened to you?

RGT: No, nothing that comes to mind. So far it’s been pretty mundane. But then again, I haven’t done a whole lot. I’ve met a lot of people on social media, and I think the biggest surprise there is finding so many people from my city who write. We really do live in a small world.

About the Author

031217 rgt banner
Renee lives in the Midwest with her husband and four kids. She worked as a Nuclear Medicine Technologist for over many years, but now manages her family-owned business. Her spare time is spent hovering over her laptop, trying to transcribe the romance novels playing out in her head. There are several going on at once though, so keeping up with them is hard. She hopes to have her first novel published sometime this winter.

Renee can be found at:

https://twitter.com/ReneeGraceauth

http://reneegracethompson.com

https://www.facebook.com/ReneeGraceThompson/

 

Thanks for the chat, Renee, and best of luck in your coming publications. Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Thursday.

