Do You NaNo?

NaNo is the abbreviation many writers use for NaNoWriMo, which in itself is an abbreviation for National Novel Writing Month. November is the month the organizers picked to set a goal of 50,000 words in 30 days. The first few times I tried this, I failed miserably. Then, in 2016, I did it! I cranked out 50k terrible words on a single story. I subsequently edited, had beta readers review, and pitched the story. I submitted it and got an email saying what they would like to see improved and reminding me I could resubmit it in October.

You would think that would be the only thing I was doing currently. You obviously have never been to the Dark Playground. My distraction monkey is at least a little well trained, but I need to clean the bird room, finish the last Bowman’s Inn Anthology, write weekly blogs and play with my parrots. I need to post reports weekly for one group and monthly for another. I need to pay bills and walk the dog. I need to watch John Oliver and Trevor Noah as much as possible. I need to go to Fark.com to see what fresh hell the government is up to now. I need to support my friends who are LGBTQ by posting on Facebook. I need to call all sorts of people about a bird mart I’m putting on.

cropped-100916-weapons.jpg

Don’t worry, by November 5th, I’ll be done with the bird mart, which is taking up the most of my free time, and ready to jump into NaNo Beast Mode. Sure, that’s a bit of a handicap to lose those 4 days, but I might get some work done. I plan to finish rewriting last year’s book while starting the sequel. It’s very exciting. I lay awake at nights just dreaming about it.

I hope you are either an experienced NaNo author or willing to jump in this year. There’s no reason not to. If you don’t finish, you at least will have an idea of your weaknesses as a writer so you can improve for 2018. Last year, I realized I could do the task even after missing a lot of days being sick and having a major event to run.

nanowrimo_2016_webbadge_winner

This year I expect to be healthier but I still have a major event to run. And there’s still a literacy event in the RWA to participate in. The good news is, the chapter has asked that I maintain a Google spreadsheet for NaNo month. That will keep me focused even during the crazy times in the month.

122916-im-writing122916-schedule

So the best thing about NaNo for me this year has fewer complications and probably a shoo-in to hit my 50,000-word goal. With my regular 2 hours a day working window plus nights and weekends as I can, everything will work out just fine. Unless I have lots of baby birds to hand feed. Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

