Christmas in July

I was thinking that since the year is all about what we can’t do right now, that scheduling a big event like the Winter Holidays would cheer everyone up. On this last Thursday in July, I’m making plans to celebrate all sorts of stuff, a book birthday in September, a book release in October, and a Quarantine birthday in September. Then I opened my mail and got two newsletters from different authors with the subject line Christmas in July! Great Minds Think Alike and stuff.

073020 brenda
Doesn’t she look great?

Brenda Novak held a Christmas in July Giveaway to spread awareness of the next book in her Silver Springs series, A California Christmas. The prize includes the book before that book, autographed, a warm fuzzy throw, a puzzle of the cover of the book, a darling book cozy that says Dashing Through the Books, and Mr. and Mrs. Claus salt and pepper shakers. I’ll find out soon if I won anything. Hey, it could happen!

Emma Prince is also releasing a new book soon, Wager with a Warrior. She says the hot weather has had her longing for the cozy comfort of a the holidays. She has a free book to download for her newsletter subscribers. Better hurry if you want to get The Laird’s Yuletide Bride. She also included a huge giveaway involving a lot of romance writers. Some you may have actually heard of. I got involved with something similar once and just recently managed to clear my inbox of all those newsletters. There were way too many to read unless I gave up writing. And eating and drinking. And walking the dog. And many other things that would have had to go.

IMG_3612a
This little tree is twice as big now.

I think I will celebrate by bringing in the little pine tree in a pot from the back patio, finding the last few ornaments that never quite got put away, and decorating it up. I will buy myself presents and put them under the tree. And I will walk around my neighborhood wearing a mask and singing Christmas carols and Hanukkah songs. I have a friend who loves the holiday season so much, she keeps a decorated tree in every room of her house.

073020 tree reflected

As usual, I take things like this personally. I was in a car accident on my 20th birthday. Some years later, a bunch of terrorists crashed planes into the World Trade Center on my birthday. Now, I turned 65 and wanted to enjoy the Golden Years. Buy noooo, we had to get a pandemic and show the world how stupid we are. I give up. I’m just going to write my books, eat cake, and go shopping online. Life is good if you make it so. Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Sunday.

073020 ornament

Leave a comment