I See What You’re Saying

Whenever someone says, I see what you’re saying, I look for the speech balloon. Or the puff of vapor shaped like words. It’s funny, but as a writer, it’s exactly what I am trying to achieve.

The person who sees isn’t using their eyes. They are using their mind’s eye. They can visualize what the words on paper mean. It’s a pretty awesome connection to make with someone. And many writers never get the full impact of how they connected with someone.

For instance, there’s a sweet romance that recently played on Hallmark’s Movies and Mystery channel, The Love Letter. I didn’t see it, haven’t read the book, but really like the idea of something paranormal like this happening. There was a line quoted on the internet from the movie: “A love that burns like fire in the moonlight.” Yes, I can not only see that, I can feel it. I am such a luck person to have that in my life.

Featured image  I don’t have a cave, I have a writing cabana.

Believe it or not, I can find things that connect with me in paranormal werewolf romance novels. Molly Harper has a fine touch with humor and passion. Her werewolves are highly fertile, and one heroine jokes about needing a “Steel-belted Radial” condom. She also has managed to make me fall in love, not only with the heros, but the heroines. The one running from parents who micromanaged her life and didn’t appreciate her for herself, the one who had to deal with leadership issues very few women would ever have to face, and the one running from a domestic violence situation when the authorities were mostly helpless to intervene.

While Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander books start with the heroine, Claire, being torn between her first love and husband, and her forever love and husband, I haven’t ever had to deal with any situation like that. Thank the Creator! But I see what she’s saying. I can feel the pull, the agony, the fear, and the joy. No matter how many books I have read about Claire and Jamie, I want another one.

Featured image

I’m still mostly a journeyman writer, and once in a while I hit that spot with my readers. I make the connection, and I’m asked when will there be more? You’ll notice I am writing this blog instead of working on the next short story or novel. I will be super thrilled when I can write on every story I want to at the time I want to. And when I can separate my emotions from the constructive feedback I get from critiques. Then, I know I can make more connections, and you will see what I am saying.

Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Sunday.

Leave a comment